What is Arts Award?

Arts Award is a unique set of qualifications that supports children and young people up to the age of 25 in enjoying the arts and developing as artists and arts leaders. Since Arts Award launched in 2005, over 300,000 awards have been achieved at one of five levels — Discover, Explore, Bronze, Silver and Gold. Young people completing Arts Award acquire creative and communication skills that are essential for success in 21st century life.

We currently offer the Explore level award. Here are some of the details:




(Qualification no. 600/3894/9)

Entry Level (Entry 3) on the RQF

Explore the arts and be inspired! To achieve an Arts Award Explore, young people:

◗ take part in a range of arts activities

◗ explore the work of artists and arts organisations

◗ create an art work

◗ present and share their Arts Award journey with others

To achieve an Arts Award, young people take on challenges in their chosen art

form. They take part in arts activities, experience arts events, research their local

arts scene, get inspired by artists and share their skills with others. At all levels

they collect evidence along the way in an arts log or portfolio, which is assessed.

Anyone aged up to 25 can take part. Discover and Explore are designed for

ages 5 plus (Key Stages 1, 2 and above), and Bronze, Silver and Gold for ages

11 plus (designed for Key Stages 3, 4, 5 and above respectively).